My Goof

16 Oct

This weekend I had time to catch my breath.  My husband was watching football, which I have no interest in, so I decided to cut out a quilt.  I turned on my favorite radio station, poured me a glass of wine, and withdrew to my sewing room.

The pattern was a winter theme, the fabric I was using had baby woodland animals, cabins, snowmen, etc.

I pulled out the pattern, read it over, got out my fabric, made a few mental notes on what I wanted to do and needed to do to achieve my goal with this pattern, then I went to work cutting out my quilt. The pieces that could not be easily rotary cut, I painstakingly traced  the pattern pieces onto template plastic, and then cut them out.   My quilt consisted of one block,  and I needed 16 blocks. The block consisted of 6 pieces, and there was a lot of fussy cutting that had to be done and two  parts of the block had curved set in pieces.  There was quite a bit of cutting to do.

By the time my husbands football game was over, I had finished cutting out my quilt.  It was time to start dinner, so I put my quilt aside and decided I wouldn’t start sewing until the next day.

Yesterday, I finally had time to start sewing on my quilt.  I got all of the curved pieces sewn to the top of each piece, as the pattern showed.  Now I was ready to start assembling the block. I organized all of my pieces and started sewing the pieces to make my block. I started putting my block together.  That is when I discovered my big blunder.  I cut half of the blocks wrong.  Because of the print, I neglected to make sure my pieces were going the right way when I sewed everything together.  If I put the block together the way I cut it, my animals, trees and cabins would be upside down in every other block.

I was so perturbed with myself for not catching that error before I cut everything out.  It just goes to show you, even seasoned quilters can make big blunders.

All is not lost yet on this quilt.  I will  have to formulate plan B and figure out another way to use the fabric.

New quilters don’t be disheartened when you goof up something, it happens to all of us.  The key is to not let it derail you.  Find a plan B and go from there.

Happy Quilting

2 Responses to “My Goof”

  1. jgp60 October 18, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

    Sorry to hear about your ‘goof’ – hope it has a good outcome. And thanks for the encouragement. One thing I learned in my beginners class was if you don’t get it quite right you can go to plan B and make it look as though that was your intention all along (with smaller mistakes, anyway!)

    • Debbie October 21, 2012 at 12:03 am #

      Most of the time there is an alternative. I do have a bin for plans gone wrong, and I eventually find a use for them.

Leave a Reply

The Brave Cook

My life from the heart of Berlin!

A Daisy Garden

Photography. Sewing. Cooking. Quilting. Inspiration.

Sandy Chandler & Just Curves' Blog

Home of the Curve Master Presser Foot

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

Little Wooden Shoe

Hi I´m Alex. I love fabric and Little Wooden Shoe is my label for handmade toys and quilts. I love to share things i'm up to and what inspires me.Please feel free to contact me regarding orders or any questions. alex@littlewoodenshoe.com ©All designs are hand drawn and copyright protected to Little Wooden Shoe

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

ExploreDreamDiscover Talks

Travel, culture, food, and perception

My Message

Be Happy, Be Bright, Be You

Our Own March

Our newest adventure along with my usual ones

