New Quilters Tip

15 Oct

When we endeavor to learn something new, there is always a struggle in areas of the project we go through as we learn it.

In this blog, I want to address a couple of things I have experienced myself, when learning to quilt.

1.  As a new quilter  cutting out my first project with a rotary cutter, the one thing that I struggled with the most was cutting straight.  The reason being,  as I traveled across the fabric, my hand would either turn out, to where the cutter will go under the ruler a bit, or they turn  in, then the cutter would travel away from the ruler.  My suggestion to a new quilter before they start cutting up project fabric,  get a bunch of scraps and practice cutting until you can see you are cutting straight.  Many times, I have to do this myself, to just warm up.  It is like a runner stretching before they run.

2. Lighting is probably as important as cutting accurately.  One of the biggest struggles I had, was being able to see my rulers correctly.  I had an overhead light that bounced off my ruler and gave it such a glare, I struggled seeing the measurements correctly, and I would get a horrible headache after a while.  My husband was watching me one day and realized the light was totally in the wrong place for me.  Instead having it directly over my work space, he moved it vertically over my table.  Boy that made a world of difference.  My cutting became more accurate, and I no longer got the headache.

Lighting in my sewing area is terrible also.  I was in a hardware store one day and found this track lighting that would plug in.  I installed it behind my machine, it brought seeing to a whole new level.  It has a dimmer switch so I can turn it down if it is to bright.  It does put out some heat, if necessary, I can unscrew one or two bulbs and still have good light.

I hope these tips help.

HAPPY QUILTING!

 

5 Responses to “New Quilters Tip”

  1. jgp60 October 16, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    Thanks for the tips. Lighting is definitely important – I don’t notice as much when using the sewing machine (possibly because the lighting is pretty good where I have it), but if the lighting isn’t right when I’m hand-stitching, it’s not long before there’s a crooked stitch which has to be re-done!

  2. Barbara Harms Fiber Art October 28, 2012 at 7:02 am #

    Great ideas about lighting and tip for new quilters first using a rotary cutter. Nice blog!

    • Debbie October 28, 2012 at 6:07 pm #

      Thanks. I like your blog also. Will be following you.

      • Barbara Harms Fiber Art November 9, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

        I noticed you mentioned branching out to design and patterns. I have a friend doing the same, boy that’s a tough nut to crack, wish you the best. I’m keeping an eye on you!!!

  3. Debbie November 10, 2012 at 12:19 am #

    You are not kidding. But I am going to keep plugging along.
    Thanks for viewing my site.

Leave a Reply

The Brave Cook

My life from the heart of Berlin!

A Daisy Garden

Photography. Sewing. Cooking. Quilting. Inspiration.

Sandy Chandler & Just Curves' Blog

Home of the Curve Master Presser Foot

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

Little Wooden Shoe

Hi I´m Alex. I love fabric and Little Wooden Shoe is my label for handmade toys and quilts. I love to share things i'm up to and what inspires me.Please feel free to contact me regarding orders or any questions. alex@littlewoodenshoe.com ©All designs are hand drawn and copyright protected to Little Wooden Shoe

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

ExploreDreamDiscover Talks

Travel, culture, food, and perception

My Message

Be Happy, Be Bright, Be You

Our Own March

Our newest adventure along with my usual ones

